Poets logo

My Mouth Still Works

A Poem

By Genesis GonzalezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

My mouth is small,

But somehow, my whispers fall on your ears with piercing sharpness,

A howling beast with an injured leg from my trap

Not nearly as clever as you believed.

My small mouth has spewed such toxic concoctions,

The sweetness of my small kisses the only anecdote on your scorched skin.

I applaud such a small mouth for being the last line of defense

Holding my heart from jumping out of my throat.

This small mouth has bitten off more than she can chew.

Has clenched in anger to protect your virtue

Claimed the kiss of your cigarettes

My mouth draws your cup to my lips

My tongue swirling your wine over my pallet.

Teeth have chattered in the bitter cold

Tongue clipped by an appetite for blood.

This small mouth parched for ideas so pure

Asked questions with such eager curiosity

These lips sealed for words of wisdom to quench the thirst.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Genesis Gonzalez

I know a lot about a lot of things, but I'm never one to claim to be an expert. Aspiring writer currently a butcher.

la_femmebouchere on instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.