Poets logo

Strings of Sugar

A poetic ode to the sitar, that mystical instrument that weaves melodies through its strings

By Allwyn Roman WaghelaPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
9
Strings of Sugar
Photo by Saubhagya gandharv on Unsplash

In half lotus, he sat on the land,

Holding the sitar in his hands,

Tunes it as the wires bend,

In a world of notes, he gets blend.

First, he plays the *aalap* in peace,

It's slow and steady as the breeze,

Everything's in bliss and appease,

Hoping for this time to cease.

*Jor* and *jhala* he then plays,

As his dexterity he displays,

Into the horizon long I gaze,

For he has set my mind ablaze.

Strings of my heart dance in harmony,

As the mind is free from all agony,

He can play the sitar for time and infinity,

For I can listen to it forever ardently.

For the lovers of Indian Classical Music and the melodious instrument called Sitar.

Odelove poemsinspirationalFor FunBalladart
9

About the Creator

Allwyn Roman Waghela

I am a professional blogger, writing about topics such as travel, food, and lifestyle thus, showcasing my creativity and communication skills.

YouTube

Instagram

LinkedIn

Threads

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Murali8 days ago

    Great! poem about India's classical music culture.

  • This was so beautiful! Loved your poem!

  • Novel Allen11 days ago

    I love Indian music, somewhere in my heritage there are Indian genes in my blood. This is a lovely tribute to a beautiful instrument.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.