Poets logo

Good Day to You Sir

Don't let a man patronize you or whisper sweet nothings in your ear. Don't merely listen to his words, WATCH HIS ACTIONS!

By Woman With an EdgePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

“Good morning beau–"

Let me stop you RIGHT there.

Have you taken me on a date yet?

Have you actually picked my brain

And listened to my heart

To even re-affirm my true beauty?

“Damn babe–"

HOLD-UP, Mr. Casanova.

Have you invested time in me?

Have you gotten to know me?

Do you actually care for me that way?

“I’m sor–"

Before you apologize to me,

Do you actually mean it?

Do you intend to act on that sorry,

Or is it just a sorry-ass apology?

“I really like–"

Me?

Really?

Are you sure?

The fact that you think I believe you is laughable.

If you really want to impress me,

Back-it-on up with some commitment

AND ACTION.

“But I’ve been bu–"

Busy?

Yeah.

I know.

We’re all busy.

“But I fell asl–"

Asleep?

Yeah.

I know.

Same story.

Every time.

And you know what, that’s fine.

Save your apologies and alibis for someone who will actually buy them,

Because this chick ain’t shoppin’ at your store of empty promises and patronization

ANYMORE!

Bye.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Woman With an Edge

If your heart is not in it, why do it? That's why I write.

Insta: womanwithanedge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.