Poets logo

Gone with the Wind?

Contest

By Jerry LiangPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1

To my dearest hat,

How remarkable is your dandy heart,

Which flitters and flutters upon the gentlest breeze.

So it is with great delight, that you took off

On this gusty autumn day.

Up and twirl, left and swirl,

With the rhythm of the wind,

You show off that jazzy swing.

With right hand on my head,

My left stretched out to Mars,

I put my face to the ground

While my thoughts flipped through the air.

I can’t quite remember though I know it true

Words from hell hung loose by my lips.

For what am I without you,

My secret of unkempt hair laid bare.

For what am I without you, my dearest hat,

It seems I’m a man without a care.

There may have been laughs, there may have been tears,

One thing is for sure, you got the people’s cheers.

You flew over heads, weaved through arms,

You skillfully slid through the guardrail posts.

Off the bridge from whence I stood,

You mockingly drifted toward the depth below.

I rushed to the edge, thoroughly shook,

Your purple glint fading further still.

When all hope was lost, though, a whistle blew.

A ship of sort had blasted by.

What a twist of fate, you’re now a captain’s hat!

But don’t you worry my dear, oh my dearest hat,

I’ll hunt the man who kidnapped you.

Yours truly,

A young man with messy hair.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I loved this piece of whimsy! I hope that captain appreciates that hat as much as you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.