Poets logo

Golden girl's secret

a set of song lyrics

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
2
Golden girl's secret
Photo by Megan Stallings on Unsplash

One of my goals for this year is to publish some pieces that I either started or written a while ago, be it I felt it couldn't fit anywhere, I wasn't in the right mindset, or some other reason. But this is a new year, new me. Let's push even further past my comfort zone.

***

I once knew this golden girl

The light in her dark world

She had lost a lot of things

But made it out like she didn't need my sympathy

A perfect smile, well-rehearsed

I'll make sure to pack a mirror in her hearse

She wouldn't need it, but it seemed wrong

To bury her without something she had for so long

***

She has scars she hasn't shown

The pain's contributed to how she's grown

But she keeps on smiling

Though inside she is dying

And she planned to take the secret to the grave

***

I never saw her cry

Though she admits how she would try

Not even the betrayal in their words

Can break the tears out like birds

She wants to fly free

But people won't let her be

Locking her down with the chains

Now here comes the rain

***

She has scars she hasn't shown

The pain's contributed to how she's grown

But she keeps on smiling

Though inside she is dying

And she planned to take the secret to the grave

***

So as she peels back the gold

And shows the darkness she's never told

She begged, "How do I fix what's inside?

Please, I need some insight

How do I fix it?

How do I deal with it?

What's the secret?

Tell me, what's the secret?"

***

"I don't know it!"

***

Because I am the golden girl

The light in my dark world

I've lost so many things

But I don't want their sympathy

My perfect smile is well-rehearsed

Make sure to pack a mirror with my hearse

I won't need it, but it would seem wrong

To bury me without something I've had for so long

***

Years ago, as I was working on my poetry collection, this piece started as two lines in a note, she keeps on smiling /though inside she is dying. I couldn't finished it, until I talked to a friend. Something she said sparked my creativity and lead to this. I think it became easier to write because some of what she said reminded me of how I felt all those years ago; I just needed a little help. So this is to all the people (not just girls despite what the lyrics implied) who are hiding a lot behind their smiles. Know you are not alone and there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

sad poetrySong Lyricssocial commentaryperformance poetryMental HealthCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    This is an excellent dark poetry 👍🏽👍🏽

  • I really needed this today. Thank you so much Alexandria. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.