Poets logo

Golden Gates in the Clouds

As I unlock a front door

By Andrea BonderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Golden Gates in the Clouds
Photo by Arto Marttinen on Unsplash

Golden gates in the clouds as I unlock a front door.

Fallen angels I've known for centuries, creating my own mysteries with avoidance of their wisdoms.

It seems as though my old soul would've benefitted better without all of the household amenities. Perhaps I could focus better on the fruition of love I give with my hearts telescope.

Easily forgetting each soul I live with is a golden key that requires as much care as I do. Home is where the heart is, I seem to have to remind myself daily.

Regardless, I've become easily distracted of a simple mission

To create heaven on earth wherever I go, and when I'm there that will feel like home.

Each entryway passed through, locked or unlocked is an opportunity to grace others as one family.

Yet, what must my counterparts do when I am the most fallen?

A homecoming that becomes postponed every 27 years. She's been drinking vodka straight from the womb, maybe that has something to do with it.

A once lively four walls can become haunted, I'm plugged into the wrong outlets. Too many times have I tried to fit every golden key into a socket. My steps become silent whispers, and I sneak through side windows when I've lost my own keys.

Home - I've hardly reminded myself

Is where the heart is.

I urge you to polish every golden key that crosses your path, they will unlock pieces of hidden inner beauty your fingers never knew they'd touch. Or so I've heard.

For I will keep searching for a homecoming that is infinite, wherever my feet take me in the next life. A yearning for golden gates in the clouds one day, as I unlock a front door with a million polished keys.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrea Bonder

Advocate of substance abuse,child sexual abuse and mental health. No matter how big or small our traumas, you my friend are a survivor. Expect dashes of my personal interests

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.