Poets logo

God Rest the Queen

A lament

By Rachel DeemingPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
God Rest the Queen
Photo by Debbie Fan on Unsplash

I have been concerned for days.

Worried you were weak,

Your indomitable strength

Slowly ebbing away.

Ninety-six. An old lady,

Your Majesty.

I saw you, stooped, cane-supported

Still regal, platinum.

I can't believe you're gone.

You have been there always:

A part of my life.

A monetary figurehead,

Even in strange lands.

In profile and

Watchful, gazing out of paper,

Metal and plastic, rainbow-coloured

Like your many tailored suits

And flamboyant plumed hats.

A connection to home;

An embodiment of my land.

Your constant presence

Reassuring.

It is a strange phenomenon:

Mourning someone I have never met.

And yet I know you. I know you well.

You have always been there

And I feel the loss keenly;

It has hit me, hard, this passing.

Knowing its presence was veering

Nearer, has not helped.

I was prepared, I thought

But I was not.

Sitting in a school hall

With strangers around me,

United in a collective gasp

When your death was announced.

Surprise and sadness palpable.

I got up, the rain outside fitting.

It should rain. It is bleak.

A grey evening, colourless: bland.

My car waiting and the radio

Full of talk of you; respectful,

Nostalgic, reverential.

Public figures, leaders, discussion,

Speech after speech.

I cry.

I hear the bells tolling,

A death knoll.

Their pealing unappealing.

My grief is true.

I will miss you.

Shaken I am, untethered.

I feel insecure:

If you are not here, what next?

I don't want you to be gone!

Acceptance will take time-

But your duty is done:

God Rest the Queen.

Queen Elizabeth the Second died today. I love the Queen and all that she stands for: duty, patience, decorum, constancy. She has been an enormous presence in my life and those of my peers, as well as my parents, and is a role model for leaders the world over as someone who has put serving her people above all else. However you feel about Royalty, the Queen has led and a huge void, for me, will be left by her passing. Rest in Peace, Ma'am.

heartbreaksad poetrycelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.