Poets logo

Blackberry-picking

Inspired by the act and Seamus Heaney

By Rachel DeemingPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
4
Blackberry-picking
Photo by Amanda Hortiz on Unsplash

Summer is on the wane and harvest is on the rise;

Nights shorten, hinting of coziness and fire,

And pumpkins and their

Glowing orange spiciness.

My father's garden is bursting

With produce and the snaking prickles

Of the blackberry bushes bully

Through the foliage and flowers:

"Look at me!" they say,

"I am here too!" But they hurt

And scratch and are ignored

Like irritating friends

Until now.

Now, they have something to offer,

A sensual experience.

Bulbous, juicy bumps, joined

In a ball; little tufts of hair

Between each mound, fecund and plump.

Their blackness is their attractiveness,

A dark signal, to be plucked;

Once avoided, the dark orbs,

Draw the hand into the briar

Glistening, tempting with their dew sparkles,

Like deeply discovered jewels.

They are worth the snag of injury

From the grasping tendrils of their keeper.

As I gather, I philosophise:

Life is like a bramble thicket,

Prickly, seemingly impenetrable,

The promise of something better

Glimpsed through the thorns.

The reward is there for the taking

If only we can navigate the hurt and trouble.

Nurse the scratches, remove the remnants

And reach for the fruit!

My tub is filling as I search and scramble.

Change the angle

To reveal another cluster;

Again, like life - the way you look at things

Can uncover much; a better view.

I know a poem by an Irishman

But couldn't remember it clearly.

The brambles drew me to it,

To remind myself of his words.

Heaney's poem surprises me;

A shocking ending of blackberries

Turned bad.

I want better for mine.

I have gathered them to me.

I want to transform them,

Like a fairy tale ending.

I will appreciate them before

They gain woolly jackets

Or lose their form in mush.

I will sweeten mine,

Luxuriate them with heat

And savour them:

I will preserve their essence

And enjoy them beyond this day

The blackberries I picked.

nature poetry
4

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Especially loved your line, "Life is like a bramble thicket," Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Excellent, Rachel! I felt as though I was there with you.

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    The philosofical twist caught me off guard. I'm liking how you pen your poems!

  • I love this, and missed it when it was first published, thank you for sharing

  • Conner Skaggs2 years ago

    This was beautifully worded, thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.