Poets logo

Glue

the things that stay

By Chance Garrett WilhitePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
C. Wilhite

“Please. Not yet,” I whisper as Technicolor reveries dissolve into familiar successions of gray.

- - - - - -

aching, begging that these might

stay,

adhere to me, rather than ricochet off and

away,

from my being, from

my body, from

my soul…

- - - - - -

…but nothing, nothing seems to stick these

days;

infinitives inevitably slip off. Fragile, they

break,

shatter everywhere, be-

come shards too sharp for me

to hold!

- - - - - -

perhaps an epoxy sweet and crimson can

assuage

the sneering, jealous critic that foretold my

fate?

aching, begging that these might af-

fix my anguished heart.

to know…

- - - - - -

“You matter to somebody...my beautiful friend. I genuinely love you."

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Chance Garrett Wilhite

writ·er | ˈrīdər | (noun): one who writes

Currently residing in Dallas, Texas.

"Let everything happen to you: beauty and terror. Just keep going. No feeling is final." (Rainer Maria Rilke, Go to the Limits of Your Longing)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.