Poets logo

Glass Wall

A Narrative Poem

By Sam KissiarPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I can see through my wall

The wall that I've put up

To protect myself

To guard my heart

And to keep my mind at ease

My wall is made of glass

Not one, solid sheet

But a glass wall with many sides

More than one apex

And more than one reflection

It's a wall that's strong enough to keep me in

A wall strong enough to keep others out

But it's fragile

And it's delicate

Just like me

My wall has many black lines

Lines that are the tar I've used to repair the cracks

The cracks that people leave behind

When they say they love and cherish me

But instead only wish to use me

I let no one touch my wall

Not even me

I'm scared they might break it

I'm scared it will shatter and fall

And I will be vulnerable

I'm not sure if my wall has an end

To the sides or towards the top

I can't see any ends

I don't see any way around

Or any way over

But that doesn't mean you can't go around

And it doesn't mean you can't get over

I'm not sure if you can or can't

But no one has ever tried

To join me on my side

Inside, I sort of wish someone would try

Try to make the long trek around my wall

Or to make the struggling effort to climb over

You see, it gets so lonely on this side

Watching... waiting...

And so I stand on my side of my barrier

My thin and sturdy glass wall

Waiting for the day that someone finds the desire

To come to my side

And convince me that I no longer need it.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sam Kissiar

I'm studying Psychology right now and I think writing will be a good way for me to calm my nerves and help with the stresses of college. And the extra money will be nice, I suppose.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.