Poets logo

Girl of My Dreams

True love or impossible weapons?

By Madison BurgessPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Girl of My Dreams
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I saw her

The girl of my dreams

Standing in library

She looked up

Our eyes met

She glanced away

I blushed, hard

Redder than a rose

She blushed too

Delicately, like the sunrise

Soft butterflies became massive eagles

Tumbling 'round my insides

I walked over

Asked her how she is

She replied,

"Good."

I said,

"Good."

She looked down and asked,

"Would you like to get coffee sometime?"

I replied,

"Yes!"

A little too fast

A little too loud

She laughed

I didn't

The next day

We met at the library

Walked across the road

Got coffee

Talked for an hour or two

I learned that she's a nerd

She learned that I cry at times

She laughed

I didn't

We left

I saw her the next day

Our eyes met

I blushed, hard

But soft butterflies became quiet nothing

Peaceful in my mind

I handed her a book

It said,

"Who are you to make weapons

of my imperfections?

My imperfections are mine alone,

that I own and love and build into

My perfect self

So that they are not imperfections any longer

but perfect.

Then when I am perfect

to myself and to the world I make,

Then your weapons become impossible."

She laughed

I didn't

I walked away

She's not the girl of my dreams.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Madison Burgess

Hi! I am a very enthusiastic and dark writer, with tons of knowledge and very little experience. I adore music of pretty much all kinds, including Disney songs and My Chemical Romance. Oh, and Fall Out Boy. Who doesn't love Fall Out Boy?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.