Poets logo

Girl Colour

Pride in identity

By Mouk.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Art by Chantelle Key

Filled with contempt, small fists and stomped feet

The last colour there that the boys left for me

My little heart knew to accept was defeat

“Pink is a girl colour”, I abide callously

It was the power imbalance that lead to the doubting

Always trying so hard but never allowed in

Then I met someone who got my heart pounding

The warmth of her eyes had a depth I could drown in

I grew with my liking for feminine things

The way her hair dissolves into yellow and pink

A delicate joy like sunshine or peach

Never thought of girls the same way ever since

See, I was a fool who had fallen for lies

That women were trouble with fangs and snake eyes

To love one or be one would be your demise

How much I’d missed out on, lost in the design

But I never fell when it came to the sin

I saw what I wanted and rose to dive in

And I fight for the right to feel safe in my skin

How little I knew of the power within

The hardship is worth it when you head towards light

I want to rest with the sunset, wake with the sunrise

Under this great rainbow flag I will die

I’ll march through the town and I’ll do it with pride

Valid and sure, I’m finally free

To find safety in kindness and strength in esprit

My little heart knew to accept willingly

“Pink is a girl colour”, I’ll wear her with glee

art
4

About the Creator

Mouk.

A head and heart-strong musician and writer. Mouk.’s work focuses on strength through vulnerability, growth, queer love and community.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.