Poets logo

Ghost Town:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Ghost Town:
Photo by Carlos Nunez on Unsplash

Love has yet to find me,

like a ghost at the feast!

Lowly soulless ginger

ghost of my former self

I never lived it up

in my twenties-

My heart is full of love

well spent

with an infant

Rubbing pennies together

To make Benjamin’s

Yet

every milestone

in my day

I share with my pillow

It catches tears of frustration

It holds my screams

like bottom dwelling sea raven

Dates are few

and far between

Not a ghost of a chance!

I’ve been through more

rounds of dating

as if my heart is ghost town;

Like filing off a serial number

I’ve been through more

ghosted talking stages

almost relation-sh-ips

AND YET

Yields the ghost

my heart still craves

love and affection

from an imaginary friend-

Haven’t you learned,

your lesson

Haven’t you been

through enough

Just give up the ghost!

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.