Poets logo

Ghost of the Cadaver’s Past

A ghost visits the dissection lab!

By Vakhiya BPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ghost of the Cadaver’s Past
Photo by Lan Gao on Unsplash

I am the ghost of a cadaver

Who refused to go to heaven

As I wished to see

My donated body's utility.

Faces lit with excitement and fear

Crowd around my nude body

A few faint! Oh dear!

Develop some guts everybody!

The scalpel grazing my skin

Makes me wanna cringe!

Listening to the tearing of ligaments ain't easy

It actually makes me feel quite queasy!

My body is poked and prodded

And my limbs are removed

Some are neat and some are messier

Dude! Quite cutting like a butcher!

Guys and Girls flock around me

Watching with sadistic glee

As the teacher saws and hits

My skull non-chalantly!

My insides are out

And my outsides are disposed

My organs are bottled

My privates are exposed!

Formalin flows through my veins

I am surrounded by its stink

Down the hall of dissection

I walk and think.

My mind is filled with gruesome images

Of the students' sick delight

Now I wonder whether my decision to stay

Was due to lack of insight.

Oh God! Take me away!

I can't watch this monstrosity!

To watch my dissected body

Is just pure agony!

God appears and asks

"Child, Why do you lament?

When your huge sacrifice

Ought to give you fulfillment?"

I ponder and am enlightened

I look at God and say

“Thank you God for helping me understand

My Mortus Prosumus Vitae!"

I laugh at my thoughts so petty!

I was unreasonable and silly!

Now content, I lounge on clouds

'Cause even in death I serve lives!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.