Poets logo

Getting Mighty Crowded

How I Feel When I See A million New Challenge Entries

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
13

Some lines on how these short-form challenges badly affect me and the Elvis Costello song title sums it up perfectly for me.

🌜πŸ”ͺπŸ–€πŸ”ͺπŸŒ›

I Love To Chat With My Friends

They Really Light Up My Life

The Entries To This Challenge

Are Burying Me Alive

πŸ”ͺπŸ–€πŸ”ͺ

I Have To Switch Myself Off

Pretend That I Just Don't See

I Really Care Such A Lot

There Goes Another Entry

πŸ”ͺπŸ–€πŸ”ͺ

I'm Just A Nasty Horror

Incapable Of Friendship

On The Outside Of It All

And Now Away I Will Slip

πŸ”ͺπŸ–€πŸ”ͺ

It's Getting Mighty Crowded

By For Now, I'm Out Of It

🌜πŸ”ͺπŸ–€πŸ”ͺπŸŒ›

slam poetry
13

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ Mariann β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Dawn β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    I agree with Leslie. Don't spread yourself too thin. We can't read everything. And that's okay. I'm pretty sure Vocal would come up with a way for us to choose what we want our notifications to show. So until then, please hang in there Mike. Sending you lots of love and hugs πŸ₯Ίβ€οΈ

  • Deasun T. Smyth10 months ago

    I understand, my notifications always fill up, and I find it hard to read everyones work. Still though, I like to try. Y'know, if only ten - twenty people enter a challenge, and only enter one story, your chances of winning something are nearly 100%. But that won't be fair... To be honest, I used to enter as many entries into challenges as possible. I kind of still, but not as much.

  • Misty Rae10 months ago

    My opinion will not be popular. I've done more than one entry to a challenge. I've done 3 a couple of times. That's about it. I tend to turn off when I see dozens upon dozens of entries from one writer in a single challenge. It begins, to me (and I get it may only be me) to feel like the lottery and not a challenge; increase the odds of winning or placing by playing the numbers as opposed to true inspiration and craft. I'm sure there are writers that are that inspired and are prompted, truly, to write multiple entries to a specific challenge, but as a general rule, for me, when the number of entries from one person begins to approach or even exceed my age...I'm kinda out.

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    I think we all understand that nobody can read them all. πŸ’– Don’t spread yourself too thin.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Well done, my friend!!!πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’•

  • Pauline Fountain10 months ago

    I think that’s why where here or is it - the Challenges? More honourable follows: To engage with the like minded. Connected to those established or discovered. β€˜The Entries To This Challenge Are Burying Me Alive’ And for once there is more than a chance. A shift in weight of β€˜I might have a chance.) It’s real! To sustain himself he embodies himself in the honourable. Very real! Pauline 🌸

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I enjoy reading them, but I'm having trouble keeping up. Fortunately, I'm done submitting for a while and I have to get to work.

  • Loryne Andawey10 months ago

    Normally, I'd agree with you, but after having pumped out my own entries for the last challenge I find it nice to sit back and enjoy the work of others. But like you, I'm gonna sit the next few out.

  • Once again, my friend, I feel ya.

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Extraordinarily wonderful from beginning to end. πŸ‘πŸΌ

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    Our individual challenge entries are like grains of sands on the beach. I actually think it's good, your story has to be a real gem to stand out in the sea of precious.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.