Poets logo

Genetic Toxicity

By: Halli Booth

By Halli BoothPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

A lot of people tell me I’m talented.

But I can tell you that one of the things I’m good at

is giving tension headaches and regrets

to people who idolised you just a few hours earlier.

The other thing I’m quite talented in is

creating a tornado out of a light breeze.

I let my voice raise and whip around the feelings

of people who’s pupils always dilate

when they look at me.

And I let myself be enveloped by the rage.

Red colouring the white in my eyes,

but the moment their colour matches mine

I recede.

I shrivel into a pile of tears and apologies.

I am coloured a dark blue that suffocates me.

and I let my voice die down,

I quiet down.

I tell myself I am nothing but a shadow of my mother.

That she shines through the cracks in my teeth,

and the moment I realise it, I stitch my lips closed.

Who am I?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Halli Booth

i’m a poet trying to make a name of herself.

i’m 18, but i think i’ve been alive longer than that.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.