Poets logo

Gary

a meditation

By Melissa KlinginsmithPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Gary
Photo by Linford Miles on Unsplash

Oh, how my heart yearned for you.

You were so broken,

So damaged.

I could not resist.

It didn’t matter that you had

your entanglements.

It didn’t matter

that your liver was shot

and you couldn’t stay on the wagon.

It didn’t matter

that you were old enough

to be my father,

and sometimes acted like it.

It didn’t matter

that you were 13th -stepping me

and everyone fucking knew it.

You even got called out on it.

It didn’t even matter

that you didn’t really want me.

That ultimately

you were just

playing a game.

I burned for you.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.