Poets logo

Game Time

By Cameron Cronin

By Cameron B CroninPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Game Time
Photo by VD Photography on Unsplash

So I ask them to play a game w/ me, anyone around me, b/c games are fun and everyone likes to have fun.

I know I like fun. It is always a good distraction, joy.

Joy, and that I am trying to enjoy human connection.

But really when I ask to play a game I’m asking for help.

Help to focus on anything else but the intrusive thoughts that consume my brain.

Its often the middle of any social interaction I get halted all productivity b/c my thoughts race an infinite treadmill of death and discouragement.

At a minimum I have to remind myself everyday 3xs a day that life is supposed to be enjoyed.

That life is happening for me and not to me.

So lets play a game, any game

Tic tac toe, chess, or brain teasers.

Anything to stimulate my mind enough to avoid the really hard thoughts from slipping through the cracks w/ any other goal but to self destruct.

Because my brain tells me to die everyday but lucky for me I’m too stubborn for my own good and I will never let depression win

Because there’s always another game to play and it's okay to lean on others to play games with you.

inspirational

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CBCWritten by Cameron B Cronin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.