Poets logo

Gallipoli

I was only twenty-three when I came to the shore of Gallipoli. A poem/song by Brett Watchorn in honour of the ANZAC soldiers, past and present.

By Brett WatchornPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Gallipoli

By Brett Watchorn

▫️

Dedicated to the courageous ANZAC soldiers, and to all who have given and are giving their lives for others to live in freedom.

▫️

I was only twenty-three when I came to the shore of Gallipoli

I was eager, strong and lean and a soldier of the cause at Gallipoli

The cannons resounded day and night

And as brothers we stood to fight

The hidden foe on higher ground

And now I am one with every smell, sight, and sound of Gallipoli

▫️

I watched my brother die as he fought by my side at Gallipoli

We were running to the cliffs, we were hoping for a moment of victory

He gazed up to the midnight sky

Afraid to ask the question, “why?”

His eyes went still with his final sigh

Holding him I cried:

I was cold, afraid and alone at Gallipoli

▫️

At Gallipoli… we were brothers at war

Praying for peace to come to this shore

At Gallipoli… we were fighting for you

Hoping the sea would turn back to blue

At Gallipoli… we gave our lives for yours

We were fighting for a better world

A world without the agony of war

▫️

I was lost and unaware that this was my last night at Gallipoli

The bullet hit my side and I prayed to God for mercy at Gallipoli

I closed my eyes and dreamed of home

Afraid that I would die alone

Maybe someone would think of me

Remembering this scene:

The dirty, bloody sands of Gallipoli

 ▫️

At Gallipoli… we were brothers at war

Praying for peace to come to this shore

At Gallipoli… we were fighting for you

Hoping the sea would turn back to blue

At Gallipoli… I gave my life for yours

I was fighting for a better world

A world without the agony of war

 ▫️

I was only twenty-three when I came to the shore of Gallipoli

▫️🔸▫️🔸▫️🔸▫️🔸▫️

Brave Music Australia

bravemusicaustralia.com.au

@bwatchornmusic

Be strong and brave: Do Today Well

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brett Watchorn

Brett Watchorn is an Australian Singer-Songwriter and versatile creative producer. Brett's passion is to inspire, encourage and challenge, helping us make the most of the moments that so easily pass us by.

@bwatchornmusic

@bravemusicaustralia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.