Poets logo

A Hundred Years In My Hand

What would it be like to leave a legacy?

By Brett WatchornPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
I'm here today, alive and kicking, but I may be gone tomorrow / I want to leave a legacy, beyond my mortal marrow / Maybe in the grand design I'm a tiny speck of sand / But what would it be like to hold a hundred years in my hand?

A Hundred Years in My Hand

By Brett Watchorn

▫️

Today I woke up heavy and fell right out of bed

A question percolating, brewing in my head

I wiped the sleep out of my eyes and looked into the mirror

Knowing that I haven't done my best to keep my figure

I'm here today, alive and kicking, but I may be gone tomorrow

I want to leave a legacy, beyond my mortal marrow

Maybe in the grand design I'm a tiny speck of sand

But what would it be like

To hold a hundred years in my hand?

▫️

I went to see a wise man and shared with him my question

In his eyes it seemed he knew I was waiting for some action

He smiled at me, grabbed his keys and took me to his yard

I wondered why he brought me there, but I didn't think too hard

He looked around his garden and picked me off a seed

"Now you're holding in your hand at least a hundred years

All you need to do now is find a place to plant her

And some day soon, maybe years from now

I know you'll find your answer"

▫️

So I went and found a quiet place that I thought could use a tree

Dreaming up tree forts and picnics, that only the mind could see

▫️

I dug a little hole and said a little prayer

That one day the birds would have a chance leave the air

Make their nests in the branches for when the sun has sunk

I pray that my children would carve their names in the trunk

▫️

As I said, "Amen", I dropped down to my knees

And planted in the hole the tiny seed

▫️

After one year, the tree was at my waist

After five, I realised it never thought to haste

There's no rush when you're a tree

At least that's how it seems

▫️

It was many years later, after hundreds of picnics at our fort

I remembered that this all came from a persistent little thought

I couldn't help myself, I sighed with great relief

Knowing deep inside me was a resonant belief

As I watched the children climbing, laughing, playing in our tree

I've been involved in something great, an enduring legacy

When I feel like I am just a tiny speck of sand

I know how it feels

To hold a hundred years in my hand

▫️➖▫️➖▫️➖▫️➖▫️➖▫️➖▫️

Copyright 2020 Brett Watchorn

bravemusicaustralia.com.au

@bwatchornmusic

▫️

~ Do today well ~

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Brett Watchorn

Brett Watchorn is an Australian Singer-Songwriter and versatile creative producer. Brett's passion is to inspire, encourage and challenge, helping us make the most of the moments that so easily pass us by.

@bwatchornmusic

@bravemusicaustralia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.