Poets logo

Galactic Mind Series

Half Empty, Half Full

By Autumn EasleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Galactic Mind Series
Photo by Manki Kim on Unsplash

I pack my bags, pushing down the emotional goodbyes.

I just can’t do this anymore, I’m so tired of the lies,

The poker faces, and the constant, tiring pretending,

All I know is that my mind, it needs a lot of mending.

But even as I get away, my mind is still screaming.

All I know is that my mind, it needs a lot of seaming.

I’m falling down a black hole that seems to have no end,

And as I’m falling, they throw things and I break and I bend.

The stress, the anxiety, and the depression are surreal,

But I can’t help but feel all of the feelings that I feel.

I feel them all at once, every one rushing through my head.

Coursing through my body, maybe I would be better of dead.

I could never bring myself to do it, for that is absurd,

But sometimes it's true, I wish I could be reborn as a bird.

I could fly from my problems and sing everyday,

Of things that didn’t hurt me, all the pain would go away.

I want nothing, but to fly and be happy and free.

Maybe if I could go back in time, I wouldn’t have to be me.

This life is so much pressure, I’m ripping out my hair.

I’m breaking my own bones, this life is so unfair.

I know I have a purpose and I know it’s for a reason.

But I just can’t help myself from wanting to end this season.

This paragraph, this chapter, this section of the book.

This book called my life, turn the page, I can’t look.

Someone please save me from this seemingly infinite mess.

I promise you, I'm trying, it truly is my very best,

But my best isn’t good enough ‘cause I can’t seem to find,

The way to survive this ride, I’m falling so behind.

I don’t know what to do, so many choices, I can’t pick.

Can’t you tell this roller coaster ride makes me sick?

I feel like I’m dying and slowly numbing up.

Half empty or half full? I don’t even have a cup.

performance poetrysad poetryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Autumn Easley

Writing has always been therapeutic to me. Poetry helps me organize my thoughts and feelings and writing fiction has kept me sane when the real world feels like it's crumbling down. Thank you to anyone who supports my writing. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.