Poets logo

Futures

A train

By Katie Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Standing

Waiting on a train, I didn’t know it then,

couldn’t have comprehended the importance of it.

Or possibly the lack of significance either.

What if,

what if I’d missed it, or taken the wrong one.

What if I’d purposely stepped away?

Where would I be today if I had, forty years ago

been uncharacteristically impulsive?

Would I have still ended up here or would my whole reality

be different?

How many different futures do we all have waiting,

waiting for us to step away, or board the train.

Standing there alone I can still recall the sounds,

the atmosphere, waiting for my future.

I stepped aboard and cast aside all those other unrealized

possibilities.

Is everything random or is anything?

To think to much about every step we take

would invite insanity or at least indecision.

So step aboard or step away and don’t look back.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.