Poets logo

Future Husband

4.26.23

By Katrina ThornleyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
3

Dear Future Husband,

There are words I have formed

And meant to speak,

But find they die on my tongue

When our eyes meet,

And your meaning in my world

Is lost whilst you're near,

Instead replaced by your simple existence,

The appreciation of a man

Sure and true,

Of a person I have watched bloom,

Meeting and exceeding

All expectations my young heart formed-

Filling my moments

With the laughter of a love

Formed long ago,

On a school bus ride

And then again sitting

Side by side

On a sunburnt picnic table

While water reflected

Our future back to me,

Before either of us

Knew what love meant-

I knew long before

You were ready

That one day

It would be you and I

Growing old

Staring at a field

Of wild flower

And tamed wilderness

As the earth aged

But our souls remained young,

I knew long ago

Even while staring in the eyes

Of other men

Feeling nothing

And imagining only you,

While you found yourself

And I awaited the day

Where you were ready

To take a deep breath

And settle your wild spirit

Only a fraction,

Enough to allow mine

To show it the way

To a love that spans

A lifetime.

Now I am lucky enough

To gaze upon your face daily

And wonder

What would have happened

Had all those years apart

Not been wasted,

If they had been spent beside you

With patience and understanding,

If perhaps I would have understood

This freedom-belonging

At an earlier age,

With little fear over

What forever meant-

And I would tell you

A thousand times

But fear you would not understand

The reason behind

The gratefulness for your open mind

Your trusting nature,

Allowing me my own path

As long as it finds a way

To run alongside yours

Until the moment

They stop moving.

So dear partner,

Read these words

While I am away

And know

Our spirits are twined

In the here and now

And the ever after.

With love and sincerity,

Your future wife.

love poemssocial commentary
3

About the Creator

Katrina Thornley

Rhode Island based author and poetess with a love for nature and the written word. Works currently available include Arcadians: Lullaby in Nature, Arcadians: Wooden Mystics, 26 Brentwood Avenue & Other Tales, and Kings of Millburrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • ARCabout a year ago

    Love the subtlety you use in this. So many of the topics you touch on can be seeds of co-dependent behavior, but you clarify the deft hand... the lightness with which you mean these words. Elegant. Graceful. Beautiful moments.

  • I find myself wondering as I make passage through this wistful yearning, whether they are indeed now engaged & soon to be married or this be but a long-lingering fantasy & crush. Whether it is something that is about to be or simply a dream of what could be, it causes me to remember so many crushes & fantasies of my past. Of Debra, with the golden locks that could have belonged to Shirley Temple, how she was in the other third grade class & the one time we actually spoke as I dropped off a May basket at her door. Of Kelly, who was my best friend in the fourth grade, but abandoned me yelling, "I bet you do this to all the girls!" I still have no idea what she meant. Of Faye, who I asked to the junior high dance, who came in a dress only to find everyone else in jeans, who made her mother bring her a change of clothes, & with whom I was too afraid to dance. Faye, who would date my older brother for a short while, years later. Of Julie, who I tutored in college & who would spend hours with me studying every evening, but never relent to go out with me. Of Nadene, another best friend, this time in college, who taught me how to kiss but would never say, "Yes," to any of my countless proposals. Of Sandra, who did say yes & married me, only to wonder if I saw nothing in her eyes as I battled my own demons. So much in to plumb in this single letter/poem. So evocative of a thousand memories of the past. Beautifully done.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    A poem I'm sure any future husband would be happy to receive. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.