Poets logo

Further

To All The Mothers

By Dannielle NelsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I carry you on my wings through the storm, you know nothing but the softness of my feathers

I stand tall when the sun beats hard, so that you do not get burned beneath it

I am your raft when the raging seas threatens to calm you for itself, you know only the gentle rocking of my lullaby as I hold you up

My child, you know nothing of the pain I accept as the cost of sparing your innocence.

I would have it no other way.

You deserve more than to be struck hard by this sharp world. I am the blunt object between you and the harshness of life.

For a time I will be the one to go further, so that my child, you can open your eyes to the wonders that are.

I will always go further, until I can no longer carry you in my arms and you will one day go further...

Your life will carry you on stormy seas because I was your raft

You will stand taller against the sun, because I was your shade

You will fly higher than I could have ever imagined, because you have felt the softness of my feathers and the sky against your cheek.

You will go further than anyone ever knew you could,

because as your mother, I will always go further for you...

From me, to my beautiful children.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Dannielle Nelson

I have no taboo subjects. Buckle up & prepare for the journey! From Steampunk, reality, mental health, poetry, & eclectic philosophy. Enjoy.

I have 2 Websites where other works can be read.

Plant People Heal

Read More Live Better

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.