Poets logo

Full Moon's Water

For my Healing

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Full Moon's Water
Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash

Stillness

of the night

on the full moon

disturbed me.

Nothing moved

not even the wind.

streetlights

were drowned out

by the glow

of her light.

Her beams

touched

every surface

of my

sleeping lady's skin.

The odd

silver light

beat away

the darkness

the fought to win.

a time

when dark

battles with light

and the light

gives illumination

in the darkest

of times.

cold frigid air

bites through

the layers

laid upon my skin

as I talk

I prayed

I admired

all that she is.

my glass jar

filled with water

placed

upon the ground

to absorb

her medicine.

Giving thanks

for the

healing medicine

she gives

to those whom

believe and seek.

My lungs

sting with

the icy chill

of the still air

as I lay

tobacco

in thanks.

With a shiver

I turn

my soul

over to her

ways

just for a moment

so she

could assess

my needs

so she

could provide

the medicine

I need.

I return

to my home

to rest

as my lady

brews

the healing

medicinal drink

specially derived

just for my

individual needs.

Gratitude
3

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Beautiful! Miigwech!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.