Poets logo

No Flowers or Cards

but lots of love

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
No Flowers or Cards
Photo by Jonathan J. Castellon on Unsplash

Baby toes

kicking in play

Little arms

wrapped me

in love and laughter

given by my

little lady.

Happy grandbabies'

smiles kissed

my memories forever.

Shared Lifesaver gummies

One or two

gifted from

my little man

proof of his love

shared between

us two.

No flowers

no cards

came to my door

but my grandbabies'

love is what

was shown

to me on

Valentines Day.

Little eyes

happy but sleep weary

gazed upon me

in the dim light

before he said,

"I love you Nookie, Always."

as he took

a deep restful breath

and drifted off to sleep.

A dozen of flowers

wouldn't have

meant the same to me.

No words on a card

would mean as much

as my grandbabies,

Love for me.

Family
2

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Thank you so. I love my grandchildren too. Children are great but almost every grandparent I know thinks their grandchildren are the best-looking and smartest in the world!😉❤️😊💕

  • Hope Martin3 months ago

    Aww this is so sweet... all my mom ever asks me for the holidays is a day with the kids. I'm pretty sure my mom doesn't love me as much as she loves my kids... I'm not sure how to feel about that but HEY. My mom AND my kids are happy so it works out great. Grandmothers are so so SO important. Happy Valentines day Nookie!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.