Poets logo

Frozen

The frozen tundra

By Jack Wayne ArnettPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Cold steel wind across the tundra stings like steel beams piecing the midnight sky. Face numb from the howling winds as I whimper soft pleas to God above.

This was the night we met, not the only traveler but this night I will pay my debts. I drop to my knees crying, "what am I supposed to do!" Forsaken in this no mans land with only the night full of terror, my will failing as the wind whispers my farewell.

Can anyone take back this fools errand to explore this forsaken land? The crash of thunder grows louder as even God curses my venture. Forgive my trespass lord, forgive me as I have lost my will to fight. This heartless sea before me of blinding snow flurries takes even my breath... I can struggle no more.

No hero in this tragedy, no salutes to the fallen of failure. My stars brought me here, but even now I can carry on no more. My stars fade obscurely into forgotten men who gave into self remorse and pity. Its odd that I no longer feel the sting of cold no more.

Perhaps resting here upon this old pine I can recover my strength to carry on... I feel warmth rush over me now. I chuckle to myself as I begin to close my eyes for just a moment to rest. The rush of warmth, exhaustion fading as I drift off into joyful rest. A smile stretches my face as I know I will be fine. Such a strange day indeed. Rest well... Rest well....

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jack Wayne Arnett

I enjoy writing in many genres. My favorite is horror, but I also enjoy poetry, romance and military life. I love the challenge of writing outside my comfort zone as a challenge. I live in Riverside, California and have 5 daughters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.