Poets logo

From My Glass Cage

Even above the debris - the stars still shine

By JoyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Sunrise,

Under the rainbow coloured flag

Comes a song, a march and a dance

Then they pack away the sun and with it

The connection, inclusion or a moments glance

What about the blade that pierced his chest and all because he loved a man

A man who didn’t love him back

A love he never got the chance to have but yes, they killed him

They killed for that

What about the missing that are mere portraits on street walls

Like the girl who was last seen with a boyfriend

A trans teen that never made it back home

She is she - a melanated child and for that

animus stains their hearts with a darkness, darker than I

darker than I - yet my kind of dark is deserving of dying

that is the thing that birthed wars and hate

it stiffens the air but not enough for change

left breathless, senseless, to the callous and cruel

one heard a barrage of bullets

another, a child's cry for fuel

and somewhere an explosion turns a home into rubble

where children once played, now sits a red puddle

I see

I see

I see the sorrow and pain that beams

My eye to the sea where there are no thoughts, only dreams

Gazing beyond this window, stretches a world still unknown

I see

I see

I see all but no one sees me

Sunset,

comes with a whisper that promises another tomorrow

from my glass cage I watch the colourful giant yield to the stars

could it be I, seated amongst the many that rest up, up and afar

cascading the plains that paint the outline of comfort

Could it be I, a piece of peace that no longer suffers

Until then, I remain behind this glass window

watching the green mutate into the cool red, winter blue and warm yellow

ears perked up to the silent screams and thundering quiet

I am just a spec, but still a star, searching for the wings of courage

wings to break free and wings to soar to a space

that knows no hatred or judgement

- Joy Johane

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joy

I write. The rest does not matter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.