Poets logo

from afar, they are coming

the full moon was not shining then

By Mescaline BrissetPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Photo by Jeroen Bendeler on Unsplash

I remember having three residences in this dream:

one was a hotel, the other a family home, and the third unrecognised.

I slipped into this reality

from the unknown vicinity

I came from abroad, possibly.

First, I circled around the hotel as I had a room booked there

though I did not enter it, I went elsewhere.

I remember the concierge staring blankly;

the man didn’t notice me at that moment.

I was hanging around; I saw some photographer standing nearby

and when the door opened, he slipped inside

it closed right behind him and I still remember a very tall building

where I found myself; was I looking for a place to stay?

But why, if I had a room booked there?

I also had a family home close-by;

a stranger among his own, that checked.

My dad was there, in real life

he’s not among the living, so that was weird.

My room had two doors and I could hear him behind one of them;

an older man came unexpectedly from the other

I asked him to leave and closed the door behind him.

Photo by Maxime Amoudruz on Unsplash

And then suddenly I found myself in a remote cabin;

my friends asked me to run away with them as the enemy was approaching.

I wasn’t listening, I had a girl with me

who didn’t want to leave this place.

I told her, “they’re coming honey, I can hear them from a distance descending from the hill.”

My girlfriend scared, curled up on the bed

I comfort her in my arms.

The bolt was locked, but the woman entered;

she said I need to be punished

even if I’m not in this war;

fired three pins into my body

it didn’t hurt, it just bounced off the floor.

The woman was dressed all in black, had a shiny helmet and stuff

reminding me of outer space

which was very much at odds with this rural setting.

And then I was back at the hotel again

I remember leaving some stuff there

though I haven’t been there yet in my dream.

It was like my family home I used to visit

this hotel, don’t ask me how it happened.

There were my clothes, my phone that needed urgent repair

and as it was abroad, some calls couldn’t get through

but the problem resolved in a flash while I was away.

And I was still wondering after awakening

how could I leave

my clothes there, behind me, personal belongings

when in real life this never happens.

*

January 2023

***

Note:

It was my real full dream that I had and I wrote it down in the order it happened the morning I woke up.

Dream Interpretation:

The woman in the helmet may symbolise all my abusers who wanted to chase me to death, but all they could do was empower me and get plenty of inspiration to work with in my books.

A photographer can be a symbol of various types of images, mine and not mine, working on me and ensuring entry into a writing routine. I really don't know how it happens, but every time I write, I have these images under my eyelids. In fact, no writing can ever be made without imagining images.

The three residences can symbolise the constant search and finding of a home by people who stayed with me for a while, but now that they are gone, I need to take care of myself and be strong.

My dad's voice and the other man coming through the second door into my room may be a harbinger of danger, but since my dad's already dead, only when I let him get into my head will he can play his tricks. Since his death, I've escaped enough of his evil spell and even gained from his departure, so I treat him as my angel now converted from the devil he was in life. It is worth noting that disguised devils are the worst, but after death they are completely harmless.

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

social commentarysurreal poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Mescaline BrissetWritten by Mescaline Brisset

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.