Poets logo

From Across the Room

And Back again

By Rigopoula Tsambounieris Talarantas Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
From Across the Room
Photo by Jonathan Francisca on Unsplash

From across the room-- your world leans precariously against the fading image of what I was for you

I observe the nostalgic scent of loneliness beleaguered between us-- and the implacable unspeakable fate of our accidental history

Across the room my reflection watches on, from the shores of shallow syllogism, remembering our future in the past-- half apologizes and cellophaned dreams admitting guilt

As you close the distance between us, I fade away into the unwashed light of desecrated reality and you remain freeze framed on the verge of awakening logic

You coast over the clouds of my mind, a symphony of thoughts and the echoic memories that have dwindled what was of us into finite particles of perpetual loss

From across the room-- and back again the void is filled with the production of sound, of our hearts breaking into infinite pieces of a familiar strangeness, evocative motifs of halfmooned smiles

From across the room my shadow stretches to reach you, grasping onto the memories you forgot to remember, and those I cannot forget

From across the room-- and back again, my presence recedes, borrowing moonlight to hide my grief

... and back again, my presence a talisman I gift you, setting you free to embrace our history with what is left of our divided smile.

...

Rigopoula March 2022

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Rigopoula Tsambounieris Talarantas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.