Poets logo

Fright Club

welcome to fright club if this is your first night………..you have to be scared

By Brenton FPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3

Rule 1 (pink fit at 3am)

it was at that point in time

i realised how long i’d been asleep

as i awoke from that coma

that made me a fucking sheep

my empty world was full of things

i’ve paid for with my pride

i sold my soul complete and whole

and let my principles slide

Rule 2 (all things slide…)

i swapped my empty rumbling stomach

for a whole house full of goods

i traded my passion for a fleeting fashion

like all good consumers should

i traded my dirty tattered jeans

for a dose of 9 to 5

i persisted and i existed

but i was never really alive

Rule 3 (depressed yet alert)

i have become what i most despised

a fucking corporate puppet

i sold my soul my rock n roll

and became a fucking muppet

in this infinite loop of time

where all is what you see

where what you become is one; is numb

and all that is … will be

Rule 4 (this is what you want…..this is what you get)

i am a slave to the public image

i bend i bow i scrape

my choices slowly strangle me

and from that there’s no escape

the reality haunts me; the banality taunts me

the end is ever so close

is it want or need; desire or greed

and what do i need the most?

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mescaline Brisset2 years ago

    For me, freedom is the most important.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.