Poets logo

Friends

a story

By Sabrina Taylor-SmithPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I took a moment and I analyzed, I realized,

maybe what you said was more truth than lies

what you prophesied.

Now all I want to do is turn back time

to ease my mind.

I feel like a storm has come

and before my eyes my sunrise dies

You said baby you know that I love you

You said baby you know I'd die for you

You said if we get too involved

we'll shatter what we have

and neither one of us wants to face the aftermath.

The rain's like a beating drum

crying of the pain

of more lost than gained.

I feel like I'm in the wrong direction of

a one way lane.

I feel like I placed a bet,

and I lost it all in an unfair game

and now I can't take it back

doomed to be one of my biggest mistakes.

You said baby you know that I love you

You said baby you know I'd die for you

You said if we get too involved

we'll shatter what we have

and neither one of us wants to face the aftermath

we'll keep it this way, turn our backs this day

and we'll just be friends.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.