Poets logo

Freedom Is A Fight

Juneteenth poetry

By Joe PattersonPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
Freedom Is A Fight
Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

Freedom is a fight, freedom is a war

Want a taste of freedom? it’ll lead you to a war

If you want to flee the plantation you’ll have to fight an entire nation and shake it to its foundation.

Your skin color is the end color. Fighting to the death with your last breath is how it ends brother.

The sixth month is our captivity end month, but is it really a win month?

We still struggle to maintain a living with decent occupation.

Overcome with the hex of wrongful incarceration.

If you look like me you get to be labeled a crook like me and get hit with the book like me.

Did that day in 1865 really change everything or just rearrange everything?

You better be ready to fight for your freedom. Headed to the skies of bright lights for your freedom.

They’ll let that teargas blind you while the dogs eat you. Wrist clicked and cuffed while all the hogs beat you.

Ready for the gunshot, the just so we can say we won shot? I think not, so I blink not.

But I’m ready to die for mine, let my angel wings fly for mine, while ancestral wisdom guides my mind.

Hear it right so you can get it right. The war is never over, Juneteenth is still a fight.

slam poetrysocial commentaryinspirational

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • The Invisible Writer8 days ago

    The fight continues

  • freedom in what order ya gaes

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.