Poets logo

Free to Walk

never alone

By Ecarg NosivePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

I’ve noticed my sleep has been deeper ever since we laid you to rest

No more panic as my eyes close, that at any moment you could be dead

You are no longer in pain and I don’t think I really am either

I am relieved that we can all now breathe a little deeper

I hope now your breath is only lost with the laughter of my dad’s dumb jokes

I hope now your legs are only sore from running so much more

I hope now your hands hold a beer and a cigarette

I hope now your independence is back like it never left

I hope now you are not your illness

Because THAT was the mom I adored, not your sickness

We loved each other, but sometimes didn’t like

But I regret nothing because we said what we felt at the time

I learned that from you..

To never give up my might

Whether you knew it or not, you taught me to fight

At times I gave in, and I know I scared you immensely

And only for that I am sorry

But now I see,

What a loss it would have been to lose your best friend

But you already went through that, so I know I can

Just sucks that you won’t be here when I want to vent

I’m getting so many messages of all the times you had

So many memories I wasn’t even a part of

You lived many lives and each one you were the star of

To say you will be missed, is an understatement

For all that you’d give, you don’t have a replacement

I will forever feel in debt to you

My plan was to always make it big just to spoil you

Just as you have me, throughout these years

Without you who know where I’d be, all I know is it wouldn’t be here

Now you walk through me and my brothers

We walk with you and your lover

Oliver can come too but, only without a leash

Because finally,

…we are all free

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.