Poets logo

Free

Eventually

By Grace Ploenges-BeltchevPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Every action has a reaction

What does that matter a fraction

I can't believe the world is shallow

Is it really that hard to say hello

Look at my face it's been to hell

But you don't know me that well

I'm from a world of survivors

Who get through by getting higher

My story isn't the worst to be heard

We barely ever got third

Fits, bongs, guns and drink

That's what caused all our familys

to sink

3 generations ended up the same

No one but the game to blame

Escapism is a university degree

Walk a day in my childhood and you'll see

But today it feels like I'm in rewind

Sitting here out of my mind

21 questions and you'll need therapy

It's just a day in the life of me

My family is a different liquid

Mainstream society want us hid

Only we see through limitation

Most of us met cos of the police station

Scars come in different shapes and sizes

Brave roars born from crys

Don't ask when we were last sober

It's was probably in October

Mental ward thinks we're nuts

Its not our fault we hate mutts

Grew up in a universal war

My brothers just want the bottom to be 4

Phones calls, mail and money orders

The reason we got caught was a bitch it's her

28 years of this and I'm getting tired

But nothing like a chase makes me so wired.

We live cos we were born dead and learnt to soar

Most of our mothers were smack whores

Some will fall victim to shivs

But don't think we will mis

community we will always be

And eventually will be free

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.