Poets logo

Fragment 1

Poetry

By Lubna KhanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fragment 1
Photo by Palle Knudsen on Unsplash

Fragment 1

by

Deathless Aphrodite of the spangled mind,

Child of Zeus, who twists lures, I beg you

Do not break with hard pains,

O lady, my heart

But come here if ever before

You caught my voice far off

And listening left you father’s

Golden house and came,

Yoking your car. And fine birds brought you,

Quick sparrows over the black earth

Whipping their wings down the sky

Through midair–

They arrived. But you, O blessed one,

Smiled in your deathless face

And asked what (now again) I have suffered and why

(Now again) I am calling out

And what I want to happen most of all

In my crazy heart. Whom should I persuade (now again)

To lead you back into her love? Who, O

Sappho, is wronging you?

For if she flees, soon she will pursue.

If she refuses gifts, rather will she give them.

If she does not love, soon she will love

Even unwilling.

Come to me now: loose me from hard

Care and all my heart longs

To accomplish, accomplish. You

Be my ally.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.