Poets logo

FRAGILE

Boxes and Boxes

By Bex JordanPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
6
It Must be Italian (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

As I pack up my

Life (to leave behind

the supposed "comfort"

of this rut I insisted on

furnishing) I scratch out

old labels on my secondhand

Boxes (secondhand clothing,

secondhand furniture,

secondhand existence)

So many are formerly marked

'FRAGILE'…

But almost nothing I own is

Fragile–

Not even my heart,

since it's been

pulled apart and

Taped together so many

Times, reinforced with

Impassive padding, cushioned

With apathy, protected by

Walls built piece by piece

by years of tears that

Encrusted once-sensitive

Eyes.

I have become

Invulnerable to the world's

Woes, silent and resigned

To never let anyone in

Ever again.

I pack the knicks and the knacks

And the notes I am

Keeping for no particular

Reason aside from nostalgia

And to remind myself

Of the times I made

Mistakes, allowed access to

parts of me

That could

Break.

No,

I'm

not

'fragile'

Yet

(but maybe,

just maybe,

with you

I could be).

love poemssad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 5 months ago

    Your writing is so captivating!

  • This was so heartbreaking and relatable. Such a poigant poem. I loved it!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Very good 😌 and very raw

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Ohhh my goodness, Bex, this is heartbreakingly hopeful (I feel like that makes sense, but does it?). The metaphor of the tape and the boxes and fragility here are working seamlessly together. To want fragility, to reframe it as something good, is brilliant, and touches the heart SO deeply. Just, immaculate work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.