Poets logo

Fractured

After The Parade

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Fractured
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Fractured

Two weeks ago, I took my wedding ring off.

He gave me a kiss on the lips this morning before work.

It's been a year since he left me with a kiss.

He broke my heart long ago, leaving me dark and twisty.

"Stand by him," my father said.

I stick around for the convenience of the marriage; for money to support my interests.

I'm not broken; just fractured; dark and twisty.

Photo by Dustin Humes on Unsplash

You opened my eyes to see the pain that's been buried.

Bubbling up like tar; seeping into my broken heart.

I tried to keep it there; deep inside -

It keeps oozing out.

The dark and twisty deep inside is out

My daughter says you broke me.

I'm not broken; just fractured; dark and twisty.

Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

You were kind to me; my broken heart awoke.

You didn't know that your light was filling my cracks.

My heart restarted; beats

The one who broke it sees the change

But my wedding ring remains left behind.

I'm not broken; just fractured; dark and twisty.

Photo by Dewang Gupta on Unsplash

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Loyd2 years ago

    Beautiful, sad, yet felt hope in it. Well done. I hearted and subscribed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.