Poets logo

Pain

Free Verse

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Pain
Photo by Romina Farías on Unsplash

Free Verse – Pain

I woke this morning to the pain; returned

I found myself weeping at its cost

I found the courage to rise and

Push through the pain.

I should have known; there were

Symptoms before the pain.

I ignored it; denying it; hoping

For another day.

I put my dance shoes on; my defiance

And hatred for the wheelchair

That sits in the corner waiting for

Me to need him - not today.

My reason for living drives and pushes

Me past the pain.

Yet shaking and weak; I am here today.

Pushing past the pain.

The day will come when I won’t be able

To stand, but I stand today.

I push through and work hard to finish

Everything I’ve started.

I want to leave my mark; before I can’t.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.