Poets logo

Foxfire

A lament of detachment

By DeiLupusPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Foxfire Fungus (Bio-luminescence)

You, in prose pardoned, amnesty to civility?

Harrowed soul and morribound.

You, the nameless, the pitiable and meek.

'Who so calls? Can see this way tread?

Where even steps have faded,

and all is dead'

You, who sings a lament, oh lillium.

How wretched! Yet blessed be,

For so many seeds have been sown

Yet sprouted in renascence, enduring are thee

a lilly no, an orchid be.

'and ye?'

I am thee.

'I know of you, foxfire, my soul.

at times we have been one,

but in your absence gloom,

I sleep in waking.

Where is the light hiding?

I wonder if it hides, weeping'

The statues weep blood, and the devils cut at their own flesh

the righteous are pious and vultures at best.

'Are you looking for the light?'

I am foxfire, and you?

'I am lost'

You, nameless, why is it you neglect yourself?

Apathy or hate?

You, wilted and weak.

in youth you soared, with me as your wings.

'It is Love. For you, and all. It was those wings that abandoned me

now a foxlight you have become'

and you?

'I couldn't say'

A ghost, a wisp, a fading light in a dangerous waste.

a canary in a cage.

a ghost, my ghost.

'Will you stay, foxfire?

my light and soul

In love I cursed you

and to sea cast you

Now discarnate and preternatural

I am blind without you'

You, infernal. Nameless and sweet, your wings no more

but a foxlight be.

were it so simple

once more as one we would be.

'Then in this nowhere place continue to dream

be my proof of human

and to life we will cling

you are the foxfire

but the light we still must see'

In its hiding?

'To cease its weeping.'

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

DeiLupus

My life is a comedy.

I am 23.

I want to be an author, actor, and so many things.

I am bi polar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.