Poets logo

fox

You weren’t always a curse I needed to break. You were once a prince that I thought was charming.

By Taylor WrightPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
fox
Photo by Tavis Beck on Unsplash

I’m not sure how to write about you,

without revealing how bitter and angry I am.

But maybe that’s what I need to write about.

You created a callous

around the edges of my heart

and made it impossible for me

to love anyone else.

Now, I’m ripping and clawing

at the layers and layers

I so desperately need

freedom from.

You weren’t always

a curse I needed

to break.

You were once

a prince that I thought

was charming.

I remember the nights at

three AM, when you would hold me

and tell me that I was important

and worth making sacrifices for.

I remember the weeks

of torture that you would

put my heart through.

With every denial I gave

you said another sweet word

to fight your way past.

“If you loved me...

You wouldn’t say no.”

“I’ll fix everything.”

“I promise.”

“I love you.”

You are the sly fox that no one can catch.

No one knew just how terrible you could be.

No one knew that you and I were not meant to be together.

No one knew how conniving and manipulative you were.

And even still,

you are the fox

I refuse to encounter

again.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Taylor Wright

26 :: Married :: Chesterton, IN :: @taylorannwright

Passionate about Writing and Creating

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.