Poets logo

Foundation

Foundation

By VJHDPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read

I have a wardrobe, with shiny scarfs, pretty tops, pants that flare and shoes that click.

I have too many coats and a lot of long cardigans.

I have an excess amount of boots and shoe boxes with heels too pretty to wear.

I have nail polish of every colour, eyeshadow of every darkness, sentimental pink cushions and a doona cover I’ll never go without.

I have a bedside table with a lamp and a glass of empty water.

I have 1000 pens and one favourite pen.

I have sheets of paper with forgotten words and a television and DVD player, a computer and a heater and all the movies that make me cry.

I have pyjamas for every mood and foundation that fails to hide my blemishes.

I have cover-up to solve the failures and a composure that no one can see through.

I have music to silence my quiet worries and jewelry to remember I have.

I have teddy bears with names and ornaments with fairytales.

I have poetry of a time I sometimes don’t believe existed and drawings of a dream inside my head.

I have all the material possessions that make me a normal person to the outside world.

Material possessions exist, they are real and felt and they are a way of life and a rite of passage.

They make the room exist and make an atmosphere real.

No matter how I feel or what I think I stand in a room with a floor and a roof and things to touch and hear and do.

If I don’t know who I am, I know what I own.

The stuff around us becomes our foundation for everyday.

Will the world see me without my foundation?

I left home in a whirlwind and took what I could grab.

I rebuilt my world again until I could look around and see it all exist.

I collected until I was full and then made room for more.

I ran so far from where I came that I forgot to even bleed.

I built around me the walls of existence and listened for the music to change.

I held on tight to those I kept, the ones who made it and the ones who fought.

I left a few, ran from some. But one got taken, ripped from me.

I found a soul who waited for me. We made our life together.

A family built became my tether and the walls began to fall away.

I still have pretty shoes- only on display on a high shelf.

I own way too many dresses.

I have more books than a library should and I write when the world is quiet.

My heart became full and my walls became thin, my family held tight and my soul felt loved.

The person I was became the person I am.

We don’t recognise each other but we have all the same stuff.

sad poetry

About the Creator

VJHD

The subsistence of our lives will live on in our words, forever encapsulating our feelings.

Words are the centre point of our existence. If we never write anything down, did we ever really exist at all?

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Nice poem🙂

  • I absolutely loved this! It was so beautiful

VJHDWritten by VJHD

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.