Poets logo

Forgotten Things

And hot air

By Diana PennPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
9

Where’d he put that anyway? Under that book? That paper? That string? What was he doing with that string? Why did he put it there?

Lord, this desk is old. It sure serves its purpose though.

Is that a sweater? A lunch bag? A box of bones?

I sure feel like old bones. They’re sturdy bones though.

See those fans up there? They used to blow. Maybe they just stirred the dust. I think they’re broken. He hasn’t messed with them in a good long while.

This old building has been here for decades. I’ve been sitting here for almost as long. I remember the day he brought me in here. He set me here with pride. Later I was moved, like an afterthought. I’ve seen many people and felt lots of hot air too.

Oh, and there’s lots of things in here. Forgotten things. Rotten things. Once useful things.

I’m kind of like one of those once useful things. I suppose I could be useful again. If someone would just pull me aside. If someone would just sit on me again. I could be a useful chair, with good bones. But you know, they could maybe keep their hot air.

***(artwork: “The Shop” by Diana Penn Artography). - yes, that would be me.

vintagehumorFor Funfact or fiction
9

About the Creator

Diana Penn

Sinner being saved by grace. People Helper. Artist - photography, digital art, dabbler of words, creator of stuff. Weather nerd. Army Veteran. Mom of 3. Wife of 1.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis22 days ago

    Ah, your style is so unique! I'm really enjoying your stuff. The internal rhyming throughout, the cohesion, really makes it stand out. Love how you brought the hot air into the central theme; really serves as an effective mirror for the "he" and "they" mentioned in the body of the poem.

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Nice writing, Diana.

  • Nicole Gibson4 months ago

    A thoroughly enjoyable read. Loved it.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Brilliant bold and beautiful!!! Loved it!!!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Great to see you sharing some of your artwork, Diana!

  • Boy, that is how I feel some days! Great job

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Charming!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.