Poets logo

Forgive Me

I have sinned

By Anathi BunganiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wasn't aware that my love was a chain. I never noticed that you had become my prisoner. I must've pushed you behind the bars of care and clinginess unwittingly, please forgive me. I know that you hated these bars, but believe me I was high when I caged you. The slight chance that you might love me sent me to heaven and I sang love songs with the angels. The kisses you gave me after telling me nobody would love me except you got me higher that the empire state, with this infatuation I would've rode to space and came back resistant to the force of gravity.

No amount of big science words could ever amount to the chemistry I thought we had. In a perfect world, we would've made it through the constant flicker of our light, if it burned top-down we would've walked in darkness and adored the stars above us. But you and I were not built for a perpetual sunrise, we are not those people. We are more of the perpetual heartache type of humans. The ones who have been hiding for too long and didn't notice the world changing and now we get lost every time we try to find our way home. You were my home for a short while.

Goodbye my lover.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anathi Bungani

I was born and bred in Tabankulu, a small town in the Eastern Cape province in South Africa. I was born on 10 June 1999 and I am a writer. I used to recite poems in High School too. Please rate, share and tip my work. Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.