Poets logo

Forgive and Forget

A poetic piece about forgiving your past to make way to the future

By Goosey Q.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Forgive and Forget
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

I forgive you if I end up mean to you. I forgive you if I give you tough love that hurts. I forgive you if we end up fighting (again). I forgive you If I take time to myself to try new things. I forgive you if I’m not present when you want me to be. I forgive you if YOU think I’m abandoning you when I’m not. I forgive you for you caring about yourself when I was reaching out for a friend in my time of need. I forgive you for caring too much about you. I forgive you if I made you think I was falling in love with you. I forgive you for making me happy.

By Rhett Wesley on Unsplash

I forgive you for continuing to try. I forgive you for being patient with me. I forgive you for loving me like nobody else. I forgive you for being the person that I needed. I forgive you for making me feel safe. I forgive you for showing me your world. I forgive you for showing me different ways to love. I forgive you for being there for me when nobody else did. I forgive you for wanting a better life for me. I forgive you for making you apart of my circle. I forgive you for believing in me when I didn’t believe in myself. I forgive you for being the person that couldn’t give me what I needed.

By Rohan Makhecha on Unsplash

I forgive you for not being the family that I needed. I forgive you for making YOU feel bad when I felt worse. I forgive you for gaslighting me, even when you didn’t know it. I forgive you for manipulating me. I forgive you for not making you a priority when I’m finally prioritizing myself. I forgive you if it doesn’t make sense to you when it makes sense to me. I forgive you for not wanting me. I forgive you if you gave up giving up on me. I forgive you for the hell you put me through after the fact. I forgive you for what I’m about to do next year but you should have seen it coming. I forgive you if I become not myself next year for I need a change. I forgive you if I make it hard to trust me.

By Meritt Thomas on Unsplash

I forgive you for not doing the things I wanted. I forgive you for not holding onto me when I was slipping away. I forgive you for not catching me when I was falling anyway. I forgive you if you decide to hate me. I forgive you if you want to leave me. I forgive you if you want to break our trust. I forgive you if you want to tarnish what we’ve built. I forgive you for not putting in enough effort. I forgive you for not taking chances. I forgive you for not taking enough chances. I forgive you for making me not trust anyone. I forgive you for making me cry. I forgive you for taking my privacy away. I forgive you for taking my right to run away. I forgive you for giving you my power.

By Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I forgive you for being an angel. I forgive you for picking me back up. I forgive you for keeping me humble. I forgive you for being with me for as long as you have. I forgive you for sharing your trust with me. I forgive you for sharing my trust with you. I forgive you for planting a future in my head where we can be a family. I forgive you for friend-zoning me. I forgive you for defending me. I forgive you for being my inspiration. I forgive you for lighting the way. I forgive you for making me trust again…in myself. I forgive you for forgiving yourself. I forgive you for forgiving me. I forgive you for reading this. Now that I have forgiven, it’s time, to forget.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Goosey Q.

A Portfolio of Written Pieces from Poetry & Reviews, to Positive Affirmations & Mental Health. This page is to Inform, Educate, & Inspire people to take a positive outlook on life while relating to struggles that we have or haven’t faced.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Blue 2 years ago

    I forgive you for lying to my face. I forgive you for thinking that you were the one. I forgive you for not staying golden. Above all, I forgive you for not being my person. Let’s forget about us, so we can both flourish and f*&k.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.