Poets logo

Forgetting

Poetry

By Alana SticklesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Forgetting
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I think I may have forgotten

What your laughter sounds like

I think I may have forgotten

The way you’d say ‘I love you' as something else

I think I may have forgotten

Your favorite flavor of ice cream

What I can’t forget is the way you made me feel

Happy when it felt impossible to be that way

Angry in a way I’ve never known

Loved the way only a grandparent can love you

What I can’t forget are the warm summer days spent splashing

You stood laughing with your son throwing corn husks in the pool

It was the last time I saw you healthy

But not the last time I saw you happy

What I can’t forget are the little things

The necklace with all my favorite colors

The elephant dug from deep beneath a pile of long forgotten things

The tight hugs on a rickety front porch

What I can’t forget are the last words I heard you say

Words you’d never said quite so plainly

I love you too

What I want to forget are your last days

Skin like paper stuck to your withering face

Shaking hands barely strong enough to hold a wave

A voice so weak and ready to leave

What I want to forget is the pain

So sharp it feels like dying

But I think you’d know that better than I would

But what I really want to forget

Is nothing

Because every moment with you in it

Feels bittersweet now that you’re gone

And holding on to it

Feels like holding on to you

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alana SticklesWritten by Alana Stickles

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.