Poets logo

Forever Yours, And Mine

A Love That Transcends Time

By Jason Ray Morton Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
13
https://pixabay.com/photos/fantasy-transcendence-composing-2437944/#:~:text=Image%20by%20Stefan%20Keller%20from%20Pixabay

I was the extra until you,

sitting and pretending to care.

I was out with a couple, my favorite two,

and wishing I was anywhere else but there.

Sitting there sipping a drink,

pretending to be a part of my group,

all I could do is continually think,

until I looked across the room and I saw you.

A strange sensation came over me

as I continued to sit with my friends and listen.

My heart began to pound inside my chest,

my forehead softly began to glisten.

It got so hot in that crowded club,

and we sat separated by couples and people looking for love.

You sipped a fruity-looking drink,

sitting and watching the crowd.

I kept trying to move, getting to the brink,

before my inside voice said no, and said it loud.

Who is she, I continued to wonder,

the entire time, afraid to ask.

I'd try to know her but feared I'd blunder,

and I felt safer across the room and behind a mask.

Did you feel me, I questioned as you turned your eyes.

A smile and a gaze

and I was the luckiest of guys

as I watched you walk towards me, my world in a haze.

The closer you came

I realized I knew.

We'd been here before,

and this was round twenty-two.

I'd met you in Rome

when Caesar still ruled.

In a fifteenth-century home,

we still couldn't be fooled.

We'd been there before,

and returned to each other again.

We found each other in 1894

before The Ripper separated us again.

I could see it in your eyes,

my oldest dear friend.

We've shared a love that never dies,

a love with no end.

You looked deep into my soul

and asked if we met before.

With one kiss we were ready to roll

as we ran out the door.

Laughing like kids,

running away in the night,

it didn't matter what we did

as long as we never left each other's sight.

How long it would last,

neither of us knew.

Looking through the past,

it was no secret that I would always love you.

Together until the end of all time,

I was yours and you were forever mine.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed this love poem. If you did, consider clicking the link below and becoming a member of Vocal +. You'd get full access to Vocal and be eligible to write for cash prizes up to $20,000.00. You can share your stories and develop a passive income of your own. It's only 9.99 a month after introductory pricing and you can cancel at any time. Your membership would also help support the other creators on the platform, like me, but wouldn't cost you anything additional.

love poems
13

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.