Poets logo

Forever Sister

my immediate reaction and acceptance of her passing

By HufflecupPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sister

At that moment my life made no sense

I wanted to be alone

I felt more alone than I ever have before and ever will again

My family reached out to comfort me, but it was their words that broke me

Tears came easy to me as a child

I cried like a baby there and then

I was not ashamed and yet my first coherent thought

"I can't believe my teachers are watching this"

We fought like normal siblings

I thought we had more time to accept that we love each other

I never realized how much I needed my sister until she was gone

I have not shed genuine tears since she was buried

Nothing seems to matter as much as knowing the world goes on without her

Any memorable moment

Any great adventure

They happen because she would want me to live not just exist

For all the memories she can never make now

Never forgotten, with love

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.