Poets logo

For You

A Collection of Thoughts

By Alyssa LPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Photo Credit: Brent Danz

I was in a relationship for two years with someone I loved deeply. He woke up one day and decided that he no longer loved me. This is a collection of some of my many thoughts, good and bad, that I had written over the two years I was with him, and now that we have ended our time together I felt the need to share them.

Flight Risk

Credit: Unknown

Just like crows have the freedom to fly,

I have the freedom to run.

Run far away,

Don't stop at the border.

They say crows fly South for the winter,

And so will I.

Catch me if you can,

Find me never.

Happy Anniversary

Credit: Unknown

I've always hated love.

Hated your hands on me,

Your head on my chest,

Your smile.

I've always hated how you dote on me,

As if I'm something special;

Hated how you care.

You're the type of boy I'll like when I'm 28 and looking to settle down,

Not the type of boy I crave at 17.

You're not just a hobby,

But a commitment.

It's scary really,

A whole year.

Want You, Need You

I've allowed wants to engulf me,

And needs to be pushed to the sidelines.

I have bad habits.

You are one of them.

The biggest one.

I want you and I need food.

I'd choose you over a meal.

I would even do so if I was starving.

Loving You Loving Me

I love you.

I love your sincere smirk,

Your tired eyes,

Your freckled nose.

"You look beautiful today"

You tell me this every day.

Often more than once a day.

For some reason I'll never believe you.

I ask you why you think I'm beautiful.

You list reasons why,

I smile.

A fake smile.

I never listen to the list,

I don't know why.

Goodbye

Credit: Anne Moss Rogers

I was so numb for so long,

That I forgot what it was like to feel.

And now I feel so much

Sadness.

I have this lump,

It's in my throat,

It won't go away.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Alyssa L

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alyssa LWritten by Alyssa L

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.