Poets logo

For the Love of Art

Be free and create

By Leslie WritesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
15
For the Love of Art
Photo by Silvestri Matteo on Unsplash

Art is subjective

When we share our art we subject ourselves

To public opinion

Opinions are like assholes

Everybody’s got one

And likewise we all have the ability to create

To the critic I say, “be gentle”

And to the artist I say, “be brave”

inspirational
15

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Too true, dear Leslie. one bares the soul when they put their work out there. Hope and wishes soar through the air. Yet one has to accept oneself and keep doing that which one loves. Opinions be damned.

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Why am I only just reading this? It's definitely my fault. This is awesome. Just awesome. I love the part "opinions are like assholes, everybody's got one!" because of course I did. Just, love love love it all Leslie! Well done on making such a succinct and valid point!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Love this!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Oh I love this especially the last two lines

  • Dylan about a year ago

    ❤️

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    😊🙏

  • This is sooooo true! More people should be mindful of this!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I read this earlier today, but I didn't have a chance to comment or leave any ❤️. I wanted to make sure I returned because I so love this little poem. I have noticed a few creators lately who feel as though their expertise gives them a louder voice to criticize. Yes, I believe we should give feedback or corrections (grammer, spelling) when a creator asks for it, but there is a way to do it without being that thing you said that everyone has. I would also say to those who have been overly critical or "given lessons" on writing to less experienced writers that sound very negative, please be sure your own writing is up to par. I've clicked on some of "these experts" to read some pretty boring unoriginal writing, but I would never dream of berating them as it is just my opinion and everyone has one - lol. Anyways sorry for the long winded comment, but thank you for writing something that needed to be said. ❤️

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Such great advice and beautifully expressed!!! 🥰

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well said!!! Loving it!!!💖💖💕

  • 😊💖✨I love this piece, Be Gentle and Be Brave❗❤️💯📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.